September 13, 2011

Briefing - Sept. 13, 2011

Unlock the Smile - Starting Point 2011 video presentation
The board viewed the “Unlock the smile” video which was one of three videos presented during Tony Pontes’ address to more than 1,000 Peel board employees at the Starting Point event on September 2, 2011. Unlock the smile showcases the exciting, dynamic, spontaneous and welcoming environments found in all Peel schools – schools where students and staff ignite the light and let it shine. Board Chair McDougald thanked communications and media support staff for their work on Starting Point and for producing three excellent videos, copies of which have been made available to all schools.

Peel schools awarded Parents Reaching Out Grants

Peel board trustees congratulated the 102 Peel schools that have been awarded a total of $93,855 in Parents Reaching Out Grants. The Ministry of Education program supports projects that help create a more welcoming environment for parents who face barriers to becoming involved in their children’s education or school. For more information, call 905-890-1010 ext. 2809.

Peel superintendent selected for Hux-Kitely Exemplary Justice Educator Award

The board congratulated superintendent Pat Noble on being selected by the Ontario Justice Education Network as the inaugural recipient of the Hux-Kitely Exemplary Justice Educator Award for her outstanding leadership and significant contributions to justice education in the Peel region.

Board recognizes United Achievers Scholarship recipients
Trustees congratulated 10 Peel graduates who were selected by the United Achievers Club of Brampton to receive scholarships in recognition of their academic achievement and their dedicated service to the community. The following former students will be presented with $1,000 scholarships during an awards event on September 17, 2011:

Adelaide Agyepong, Turner Fenton Secondary School
Alyssa Andrew, Central Peel Secondary School
Asha Fletcher, Applewood Heights Secondary School
Dave Harris, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School
Jordan Veira, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School
N’ttendre Cox, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School
Yousra Hassan-Gendil, Rick Hansen Secondary School
Andrea Nwabuike, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School
Olivia Wallace, Turner Fenton Secondary School

Peel board students, staff fundraise to send hope to Africa

The Peel District School Board set Sept. 9 as Toonie Friday to send hope to Africa. Many Peel board schools participated in the voluntary campaign and funds raised for this appeal will be used to support both UNICEF and Free The Children rehabilitation efforts in Africa.

“Peel students, staff and parents all care deeply about those affected by the crisis in the Horn of Africa,” says Janet McDougald, chair of the board. “As global citizens, it’s our responsibility to share our smile to help make a difference in the lives of those in need.”

In order to better respond to the needs of those affected by the drought, and to more effectively match the generosity of Canadians, the government of Canada will match eligible donations made from July 6 until Sept. 16, 2011.

Board approves Fletcher's South Junior Public School as balanced calendar school

The board approved the opening of Fletcher’s South Junior Public School as a balanced calendar school in August 2012. In August 2005, Roberta Bondar Public School opened as the board’s first balanced calendar school for a five year pilot project. The results of a review of the pilot published in June 2010 concluded that the balanced calendar is a successful alternative to the traditional calendar and that future balanced calendar schools be considered. 

Appointments to Special Education Advisory Committee

The board approved the appointments of Deanna Henderson as the representative for Parents Easter Seals Ontario and Sandy Milakovic as the representative for the Canadian Mental Health Association on the Special Education Advisory Committee.


Trustees recognized the contributions and years of service of the following staff who are retiring:

Gloria Abrams, teaching assistant, will retire Sept. 16
Peggy Bracken, office assistant, will retire Oct. 31
Deepi Kang-Weisz, principal, will retire Nov. 30
Suzanne Orlando, school library support technician, will retire Oct. 1
Marjorie Richel, office assistant, retired Aug. 29
Geoffrey Ross, head custodian, will retire Oct. 1
Padma Sastri, teacher, will retire Sept. 30
Joseph Serventi, computer support specialist, will retire Sept. 16
Bonnie Trollope, teaching assistant, retired Aug. 30

The next regular meeting of the board of trustees is Sept. 27, 2011 at 7:30 p.m.


COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School