February 26, 2020

Briefing - February 25, 2020

​Special presentation

In celebration of Black History Month, a special drama video production was shown - If Black People Did Not Exist - ​produced by students and staff from Artesian Drive Public School.


Carol Deneka delegated the board regarding religion in the public, secular school board.

Peel board recognizes Peel Lunchroom Supervisor Appreciation Day on March 6

The board will recognize Peel Lunchroom Supervisor Appreciation Day on March 6. Schools will participate in a variety of activities to express their appreciation for lunchroom supervisors and acknowledge their contributions.

​Schools across Peel participate in Black History Month activities

Throughout the month of February, schools across the Peel District School Board have been participating in a number of activities to recognize, celebrate and honour the rich heritage, history, culture and contributions of Black Canadians. Some activities and events hosted across Peel schools during February include:

At Artesian Public School in Mississauga, students participated in a Black Excellence showcase speaker's series on Feb. 3. On Feb. 10, a professional boxer and motivational speaker, Kingsley Alexander was invited to speak to students about the importance of discipline and goal setting. Students were also engaged in a storytelling session with renowned author, Itah Sadu on Feb. 20, who shared about the rich oral traditions of Africa, the Caribbean and North America.

Louise Arbour Secondary School in Brampton held assemblies with inspirational and motivational speakers highlighting Black excellence, including a presentation by Dr. Andrew Campbell, professor at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) on Feb. 25. A food expo, spoken word poetry, drum line presentation, and stepping activities were planned throughout the month. Bulletin boards celebrating the contributions of Black Canadians were displayed.

Ellwood Memorial Public School in Caledon held in-class activities in honour of Black History Month. The school's cultural group made morning announcements to recognize the importance of celebrating all communities and cultures throughout the year.

Board approves 2020-2021 School Year Calendars

Trustees approved the proposed 2020-2021 school year calendars for all schools including Roberta Bondar, Ray Lawson and Tony Pontes public schools and Roy McMurtry School. See section 9.1 of the agenda of the Feb. 25 Regular Meeting of the Board. The dates are not official until approved by the Ministry of Education.

Board approves amendment to By-laws

Trustees approved the following amendment to the Peel board By-laws:
D-46 - All votes at meetings shall be taken by a show of hands or electronic means, and the result shall be declared by the Chair. If voting is by a show of hands, except those votes recorded by names, and the declaration of the Chair is questioned, the members voting shall rise and stand until they have been counted.

Board appoints three trustees to the Trustee Governance Committee

The following three trustees were appointed to the Trustee Governance Committee:

Carrie Andrews

Susan Benjamin

Sue Lawton
Elementary vice-principal promotion process

The board approved the following individuals to be considered for promotion to elementary vice-principal, as vacancies occur:

Susan Baier, Mount Royal Public School

Tracy Bardell, Curriculum and Instruction Support Services - Special Education

Deborah Cote, Oscar Peterson Public School

Joan Eubanks, Erin Mills Middle School

Cassandra Fray, Calderstone Middle School

Jason Frenza, St. Mary Catholic Elementary School,  Halton Catholic District School Board

Gita Gaur, Pte. Buckam Singh Public School

Amritpal Gill, Roberta Bondar Public School

Jasleen Mann, Beryl Ford Public School

Rupinder Mann, Springdale Public School

Sam Mathew, Plum Tree Park Public School

Jennifer Mavity, Roberta Bondar Public School

Wendy Messier, Springbrook Public School

Charles Myton, Aylesbury Public School

Matthew Ng, Hanover Public School

Jay Russell, Red Willow Public School

Safia Saleh, Leadership Development and School Support Services

Charlene Savory, Malala Yousafzai Public School

Simone Sealy, Morning Star Middle School

Sophia Siddiqi, Homelands Senior Public School

Alka Singh, Derry West Village Public School

Reena Taeput, Curriculum and Instruction Support Services - Special Education

Julie Todd, Caledon Central Public School

Tara Trowsse, Darcel Avenue Senior Public School

Nancy Tucciarone, Ross Drive Public School

John Uren, Aylesbury Public School

Wendell Williams, Tony Pontes Public School

​Tellece Woodbine-James, Portage Trail Community School, Toronto District School Board

Elementary principal promotion process

The board approved the following individuals to be considered for promotion to elementary principal, as vacancies occur:

Angelo Cariati, Homestead Public School

Christopher Casey, Aylesbury Public School

Jennifer Challinor, Larkspur Public School

Julie Christensen, Allan A. Martin Senior Public School

Laura Ferrill, Plum Tree Park Public School

Kelly Freitas, McCrimmon Middle School

Vida Gardener, Parkway Public School

Brett Harris, Lancaster Public School

Maryam Hasan, Glenview Senior Public School, Toronto District School Board

Cara Hughes, Agnes Taylor Public School

Joan Levert, Fernforest Public School

Vivilyn Lewis, Kindree Public School

Costen McCann, Herb Campbell Public School

Stacy Moonsammy, Treeline Public School

Trudy Pearylal-Maharaj, Thorndale Public School

Joseph Pileggi, Brandon Gate Public School

Christine Roy, Brian W. Fleming Public School

Juanita Taylor, Clark Boulevard Public School

Claire Yorrick, Dolphin Senior Public School

Secondary principal promotion process

The board approved the following individuals to be considered for promotion to secondary principal, as vacancies occur: 

Heike Bronson, Mayfield Secondary School

Laura Garner, Central Peel Secondary School

Rajwant Gill, Rick Hansen Secondary School

Devon Hanson, Lincoln M. Alexander Secondary School

Carol Mascherin, Applewood Heights Secondary School

Janet Rogers, Applewood School

Ursula Slusarczyk, Mississauga Secondary School

Kristina Zammit, Peel Alternative School – North 

Trustees recognized the contributions and years of service of the following staff who have/are retiring:

Aysha Abbas, teacher, will retire June 30, 2020

Shirley Brown, accounts payable clerk, will retire March 12, 2020

Chris Burns, teaching assistant, will retire March 31, 2020

Maureen Clubb-Miculis, teacher, will retire March 20, 2020

Sharon Ernst, teacher, will retire June 30, 2020

Pearl Kisbenyi, teacher, will retire June 30, 2020

Cathy Patterson, coordinating principal, international education, will retire June 30, 2020

Jon Staples, teacher, will retire June 30, 2020

Rhonda Stead, teaching assistant, retired January 31, 2020

Heidi Tamosauskas, teaching assistant, retired January 31, 2020

Karl Wilson, teacher, will retire June 25, 2020

COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School