December 3, 2019

Briefing - December 2, 2019 - Organizational Meeting of the Board


Peel board elects new chair, vice-chair
Brad MacDonald elected as chair, David Green elected as vice-chair at Organizational Meeting of the Board

At their annual meeting on Dec. 2, 2019, Peel District School Board trustees elected Brad MacDonald as chair and David Green as vice-chair. Both have served as trustees for over 16 years—MacDonald as trustee for Mississauga wards 2 and 8, and Green as trustee for Brampton wards 1 and 5.

In his remarks, MacDonald spoke to the year ahead: "Our diverse backgrounds are a great strength. Each of us looks at things in different ways, but always with the focus on making education better for all students so they can achieve their dreams."

We have so many great talents sitting around the table that needs to be harnessed to build our relationships with school communities, engage their feedback and build together a better place for children to learn and succeed. I will work with all of you on how we can continue to strive to make that happen."

Green added, "Together, we will work. We will work to ensure that this board, in everything that we do, puts students first. They must be first, and always be first, at the forefront of everything we do."

Read the news release to learn more. ​

Earnscliffe Senior Public School students perform at Organizational Meeting of the Board 

The Board of Trustees enjoyed a performance from Earnscliffe Senior Public School's Jazz Band, directed by Andrew Maynard, teacher. 

Three trustees elected to striking committee

The board elected trustees Carrie Andrews, Susan Benjamin and Balbir Sohi to the striking committee. This committee also includes the chair of the board and vice-chair of the board.

Board elects members of Standing and Legislated Committees

Audit Committee
(Chair will be elected at the next Audit Committee meeting on April 1, 2020)

  • Susan Benjamin
  • Will Davies
  • Balbir Sohi

Instructional Programs/Curriculum Committee

  • Susan Benjamin (Chair)
  • Stan Cameron
  • Robert Crocker
  • Nokha Dakroub
  • Sue Lawton
  • Kathy McDonald

Human Resources & Negotiations Advisory Committee
(Committee of the Whole Board)

  • ​Chair:  Carrie Andrews

Physical Planning & Building Committee

  • Carrie Andrews
  • Stan Cameron
  • Robert Crocker (Chair)
  • Will Davies
  • David Green
  • Balbir Sohi

Special Education Advisory Committee
(Chair and Vice-Chair will be elected at the next SEAC meeting on Dec. 17, 2019)

  • Sue Lawton
  • John Marchant
  • Kathy McDonald
COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School