December 4, 2018

Briefing - December 3, 2018

Peel board elects new chair, vice-chair

Stan Cameron elected as chair, Sue Lawton elected as vice-chair at inaugural meeting

At the first meeting of the new board of trustees on Dec. 3, Stan Cameron was elected as chair of the Peel District School Board. Cameron has served as trustee for eight years, now entering his third term as trustee of Caledon. Sue Lawton, trustee for Mississauga wards 3 and 4, was elected as vice-chair and is beginning her ninth year in public office. Trustees also welcomed new members to the board: Susan Benjamin (Mississauga, ward 5), William Davies (Brampton, wards 2/6), John Marchant (Mississauga, wards 1/7) and Balbir Sohi (Brampton, wards 9/10).

"The Peel District School Board—trustees and staff—have always been focused on helping all students achieve personal excellence through access to rich programming. We remain committed to this through the continued support of every child, including marginalized students—Black, Indigenous, LGBTQ+ students, students who live in poverty and those with special education needs," said Cameron in his inaugural remarks. "We will work together with our amazing administrative members to continue to be the best operational/governance school board team in this province. And we will do that by representing all constituents, respecting each other, helping others, listening, and continuing to build our positive working relationships."

In her augural remarks, Lawton said, "Above all, I'm especially grateful to our Peel families, who entrust us every single day to teach and care for their children. I promise to continue to help lead this board as we hold those children at the very heart of everything we do."

In accordance with the Education Act, the chair of the board:

  • presides over meetings of the board
  • conducts meetings in accordance with the board's procedures and practices for the conduct of board meetings
  • establishes agendas for board meetings, in consultation with the board's director of education
  • ensures that members of the board have the information needed for informed discussion of the agenda items
  • acts as spokesperson to the public on behalf of the board, unless otherwise determined by the board
  • conveys the decisions of the board to the board's director of education
  • provides leadership to the board in maintaining the board's focus on the multiyear strategic plan, as well as the board's mission and vision

At the inaugural meeting, Director of Education Peter Joshua also previewed some of the major achievements of the past year that will be highlighted in the annual report to the board. The report will be released in January 2019.

"When students walk through our doors, they enter places of inspiration—safe, inclusive spaces where they can discover their passions, embrace modern learning and achieve to the best of their ability," said Joshua. "This year, guided by our Plan for Student Success, we will continue to set high expectations for success, nurture well-being, build connections and foster inclusive learning and work environments."

To learn more about the role of trustee, visit

Tomken Road Middle School, Central Peel Secondary School perform at inaugural meeting of the board

The new board of trustees enjoyed musical performances from the Tomken Road Middle School choir and Central Peel Secondary School string ensemble.

Three trustees elected to striking committee

The board elected trustees Susan Benjamin, David Green and Brad MacDonald to Striking Committee (plus the Chair and Vice-Chair)

Board elects members of Standing and Legislated Committees


Susan Benjamin

Robert Crocker

Nokha Dakroub

Will Davies

Kathy McDonald (Chair)

Balbir Sohi



Carrie Andrews

Susan Benjamin

Robert Crocker

David Green (Chair)

Brad MacDonald

Balbir Sohi



(Chair and Vice-Chair will be elected at the next SEAC Meeting – Dec. 18, 2018)

Sue Lawton

John Marchant

Kathy McDonald


Human Resources & Negotiations Advisory Committee (Committee of the Whole Board)

Chair:  David Green



(Chair will be elected at the next Audit Committee Meeting – March 21, 2019)     

Will Davies

David Green

Sue Lawton

COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School