May 9, 2017

Briefing - May 9, 2017


Peel schools celebrate Asian Heritage Month in May
Peel schools hosted Asian Heritage Month (AHM) celebrations in May to learn about and honour the rich culture, achievements and contributions of Asian Canadians. To celebrate centrally, the Peel board held its annual Spotlight on Asian Heritage events on May 8 and 9, where over 500 students and educators had the opportunity to learn more about the cultural traditions and accomplishments of the Asian community.
Student artwork demonstrating key AHM themes are currently on display in the atrium of the HJA Brown Education Centre, located at 5650 Hurontario St. in Mississauga. Student artwork also contributed to this year's AHM poster, which was distributed to all Peel schools and work sites to be displayed in prominent areas. The poster highlights this year's AHM theme: Roots of Inclusion.

At tonight’s Regular Meeting of the Board, staff from Derry West Village Public School shared lessons and activities taking place at their school during Asian Heritage Month.

Special presentation by Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Peel
Shari Lynn Ladanchuk, executive director of Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Peel, presented to the board and provided an update on in-school and employee mentoring programs at schools and work sites.

Special presentation by United Way
Aileen Padua and Lea-Anne Greene-Smith, the Peel board’s 2016-17 United Way Campaign Committee co-chairs, provided highlights of this year’s campaign, "Inspire Possibility.” Peel schools and worksites raised a total of $227,777.98.

Awards were presented to Fernforest and Whiteoaks public schools, Applewood Heights Secondary School, and North Field Office for having raised the highest amounts among elementary and secondary schools, and board work sites. The Harold M. Brathwaite Award, which is presented to a school exemplifying the true spirit of the campaign, was awarded to Fernforest Public School. Castleoaks Public School and Judith Nyman Secondary School were recognized for the most inspiring tweet regarding the campaign – #InspirePossibility.

Trustees expressed appreciation for the support and generosity of trustees, senior administration, staff and students.

Board receives NCCM Human Rights Award for nurturing inclusive schools
On May 6, the National Council of Canadian Muslims (NCCM) presented the Peel District School Board with the NCCM Human Rights Award for its ongoing efforts to nurture inclusive schools for all. The NCCM also presented Tony Pontes, director of education, and Brian Woodland, director of communications and community relations, with the NCCM Courage and Human Rights Award, respectively, for their work in standing up for the human rights of all students. Trustee Robert Crocker attended the NCCM’s Annual Awards Dinner on behalf of trustees.

Board appoints trustees to serve on OPSBA board of directors
Trustee appointed Trustee Andrews and Trustee Williams to serve on the Board of Directors of the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association for the 2017-18 period. These appointments will be subject to the Board’s decision on OPSBA membership for the 2017-18 school year. Trustee Green and Trustee Nurse will serve as alternates.

Board approves holding school for Whaley’s Corner PS
The construction of new school, Whaley’s Corners Public School, will not be completed for student occupancy until January 2018. As such, the board approved the temporary redirection of Whaley’s Corners students to Jean Augustine Secondary School, effective September 2017. Affected families will receive communication in the next week.

Board approves Regular Meetings of the Board schedule for 2017-18
Trustees approved the schedule of board meeting dates for the 2017-18 period. The schedule can be found in Section 9.5 of the  Board Meeting Agenda

Peel board celebrates public education during Education Week – May 1 to 5
Peel public schools hosted hundreds of special activities and events to celebrate Education Week 2017 from May 1 to 5, 2017. The theme for this year's focus on education was “We Inspire Hope.” More than 800 individuals were also honoured during Education Week with Awards of Distinction for their contributions to their school or workplace.

One of the highlights of Education Week is the presentation of Awards of Excellence. The award recipients are students, volunteers, staff and community partners who have made outstanding contributions to public education in Peel. The awards will be presented to 34 deserving recipients at the Showcase of Excellence ceremony on May 11 at 7:30 p.m. in the boardroom, HJA Brown Education Centre, 5650 Hurontario St., Mississauga.

Trustees recognized the contributions and years of service of the following staff who are retiring:

Gayle Ackerman, vice principal, will retire June 30
Donalda Barlow, principal, will retire May 31
Carmen Brown, school attendant, retired April 30
Marilyn Buck, teacher, will retire June 30
Maureen Craig, office manager, will retire June 30
Teresa D’amato, teacher, will retire June 30
Cecile Davies, teacher, will retire June 30
Tina De Bartolo, vice principal, will retire June 30
Susan Elliott, teacher, will retire June 30
Charmaine Ferworn, teacher, will retire June 30
Monserrat Gonzalez, food service assistant – group leader, will retire June 30
Roopa Gupta, teacher, will retire June 30
Melody Harding, assistant to director of human resources, will retire June 30
Nancy Kanas, teacher, will retire June 30
Karen Karrandjas, teacher, will retire June 30
Sandy Kissoon-Singh, principal, will retire June 30
Bev Kyro, teacher, will retire June 30
Linda Lennox, principal, will retire June 30
Samuel Macri, teacher, will retire June 30
Susanne Massie, teacher, will retire June 30
John McLean, teacher, will retire June 30
Stephen Mclennan, teacher, will retire June 30
Shari Nickle, principal, will retire June 30
Noel Rose, custodian, will retire June 30
Penny Sargeant, school attendant, will retire June 30
Kathy Sherbaniuk, teacher, will retire June 30
Catherine Trudgeon, office assistant, will retire June 2
Katherine Walton, teacher, will retire June 30
Danny Wiltshire, custodian floater, will retire June 30
George Young, custodian, will retire May 31
Darlene Zukerman, teacher, will retire June 30
Edwin Zukowski, teacher, will retire June 30


COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School