December 8, 2015

Briefing - December 8, 2015


Peel board commits to Peel Healthy Schools Partnership

The Peel board has partnered with Peel Public Health and the Dufferin-Peel Catholic District School Board to form the Peel Healthy Schools Partnership. The organizations will work together to help create and sustain healthy school environments and school communities that contribute to the well-being of children and youth in Peel. Peel Health staff, including Dr. Eileen De villa, medical officer of health, Ohla Dobush, director of chronic disease and injury prevention, and Donna Kern, manager of chronic disease and injury prevention, presented the board with a copy of the Peel Healthy Schools Partnership Declaration.

Peel secondary students recognized for OSSTF Marion Drysdale award

Trustees congratulated the Peel secondary students who were recognized by the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF) for the Marion Drysdale Award for their artistic and creative talents:

Award winners
Alessandra DiLello, Louise Arbour S.S.
Rona He, Glenforest S.S.
Christina Mohan, Harold M. Brathwaite S.S.
Clara Mustata, Glenforest S.S.
Emilia Radziwonik, Cawthra Park S.S.
Rachel Storey, Cawthra Park S.S.
Jenny Zhang, Harold M. Brathwaite S.S.
Honourable mentions
Soliman Ali, Harold M. Brathwaite S.S.
Felicia Guan, Louise Arbour S.S.
Nina Jayasuriya, North Park S.S.
Anne Liu, Glenforest S.S.
Areeba Sami, Stephen Lewis S.S.
Daniella Serrador, Port Credit S.S.

Board writes letter to Ministry of Education in support of development of curriculum and learning resources on Aboriginal peoples in Canada

Trustees sent a letter to the Honourable Liz Sandals to express the board’s support for the development of curriculum and learning resources on Aboriginal peoples in Canada for students in kindergarten to grade 12, as suggested in the Calls to Action from the findings of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission brought forward by Mr. Justice Murray Sinclair on June 2, 2015.

The board recognizes that encouraging, inclusive and respectful environments help students achieve to the best of their ability. As part of this work, the board continues to look for ways to improve the capacity of the board to respond to the learning and cultural needs of First Nation, Métis, and Inuit students.

Board approves recommendations from Part 2 of Annual Planning Document 2015-2016

For more information on the approved recommendations, contact Planning and Accommodation at 905-890-1010 (or 1-800-668-1146) ext. 2212.

Board approves accommodation review information

Trustees were informed that the following schools have been identified as under 60% capacity:
• Alton P.S.
• Clarkson P.S.
• Riverside P.S.
• Clarkson S.S.
• Erindale S.S.
• T.L. Kennedy S.S.

Board approves new school

Trustees approved a new school, tentatively named SouthFields Village #2 P.S., with kindergarten to grade 8, scheduled to open in September 2017.

Board approves additions to existing schools

Trustees approved additions to the following existing schools:
• Thorndale P.S.
• Robert H. Lagerquist P.S.

Board approves boundary changes

Trustees approved boundary changes at each of the following schools, effective September 2016 :

• Credit Valley Sub area 3 #1 P.S. (K – grade 8) – new school boundary
• James Potter P.S. (K – grade 5) – boundary change
• Huttonville P.S. (K – grade 8) – boundary change
• Mount Pleasant #8 P.S. (K – grade 8) – new school boundary

Board approves holding boundary

Trustees approved the holding boundary for Vales of Humber, effective September 2016.

Board approves borrowing resolution for school board current expenditures 2016

Trustees approved the borrowing resolution to meet the ongoing expenditures from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016 until the current revenue has been received.

Board approves ratification of tentative local agreement with Peel Elementary Teachers’ Local

Trustees approved the ratification of the tentative local agreement with Peel Elementary Teachers’ Local upon their ratification, which is expected on December 10, 2015. 

Peel board ready to Inspire Hope for hundreds of Syrian children

The Peel board has created an Inspire Hope Action Team to plan for the arrival of large numbers of refugee families who arrive in Brampton, Caledon and Mississauga, and to ensure supports are focused and schools are prepared.

“At this point, there has been no confirmation of the number of refugee families who will settle in Peel, but we do know that our community is a major destination for many newcomers,” says Brian Woodland, director of communications and community relations, and chair of the Inspire Hope Action Team. This year alone, the Peel board’s three We Welcome the World Centres (WWTWC) have assessed and registered over 5,300 newcomer students. Notes Woodland, “Our schools have vibrant English as a Second Language (ESL) programming, staff experienced in receiving newcomers, and a wide variety of supports and services provided by social workers, psychologists and Multicultural Settlement in Education Partnership (MSEP) workers. Our schools and support staff have always done an amazing job to support refugee families. We know they’ll continue to offer a warm welcome and inspire hope.”

The Peel board’s Inspire Hope Action Team will:
• inventory existing supports and services
• identify potential needs/areas that require provincial funding
• ensure coordination of services to support refugee families
• identify how staff can provide arriving refugees with a warm welcome and successful school experience
• connect with community agencies serving refugees

Principal Assignment - Correction

At the November 23, 2015 Regular Board Meeting (In-Committee) the following principal assignment effective March 21, 2016 was received:

Shawn Sabourin from principal at Beatty-Fleming Senior Public School to principal at Mount Pleasant #7 Public School

Please note the following CORRECTION:

Shawn Sabourin from principal at Beatty-Fleming Senior Public School to principal at Mount Pleasant #8 Public School

The following elementary vice-principal appointment will be effective January 4, 2016:

Maria Cristina Sciamanna teacher at Sir Isaac Brock Public School to vice-principal at Greenbriar Middle School

The following secondary vice-principal appointment will be effective February 4, 2016:

Judith Ritchie from teacher at Castlebrooke Secondary School to vice-principal at Turner Fenton Secondary School

The following secondary vice-principal assignment will be effective February 4, 2016:

Karen Thomas-Blanchette from vice-principal at Streetsville Secondary School to vice-principal at Peel Alternative School West

Trustees recognized the contributions and years of service of the following staff who have/are retiring:

Luanne Bandiera, teaching assistant, will retire Dec.31
Catherine Banks, teacher, will retire Jan. 31
Maria D’Apollonio, school attendant, will retire Dec. 31
Peter De Franco, head custodian, will retire June 29
Craig Ferguson, manager – management accounting, will retire Dec. 31
Elayne Gonneau, teaching assistant, will retire Jan. 29
Cherry Greenland, transportation assistant, will retire Dec. 31
William Locke, school attendant, retired Nov. 20
Merl Lunan, teaching assistant, will retire Dec. 31
Sue Prouse, vice principal, will retire Dec. 31
Brent Serebrin, vice principal, will retire June 30
Eileen Stockley, office manager, will retire Dec. 31

COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School