September 1, 2015

Briefing - September 1, 2015


​Board congratulates graduates selected for United Achievers’ Scholarships

Trustees congratulated 12 Peel District School Board graduates who were selected by the United Achievers’ Club of Brampton to receive scholarships in recognition of their achievement and their dedicated service to the community. The $1,000 scholarships will be presented to the students at the United Achievers’ 2015 Scholarship & Recognition Awards on Sept. 19, 2015.

The board congratulated:

Khadijat Animashaun, Erindale Secondary School
Chelsea Coleman, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School
Oyindamola (Sharon) Esho, Turner Fenton Secondary School
Chanel Harris, Central Peel Secondary School
Achidi Kisob, Gordon Graydon Memorial Secondary School
Nathanial Mahon, North Park Secondary School
Madieson McNeil-Alexander, Mayfield Secondary School
Sharon Nwamadi, Central Peel Secondary School
Omoregie (Paul) Okundaye, Chinguacousy Secondary School
Jennel Senior, Bramalea Secondary School
Elijah Seunarine, Bramalea Secondary School
Brittany Smeikle, Fletcher’s Meadow Secondary School

Board approves community representatives for membership on SAL Committee 

Membership on the Supervised Alternative Learning (SAL) Committee is updated on an annual basis. Superintendents of Education determine the continued interest and availability of members who served the previous year and recruit new volunteers. Trustees approved the following community representatives for membership on the 2015-16 SAL Committee:

Lisa Bachmeier, Associated Youth Services of Peel
Anne Boissinot, Volunteer, Library Board
Teanna Brun, Associated Youth Services of Peel
Dan Carrier, Police Officer, Peel Regional Police
Erin DiCarlo, Child & Youth Worker, Associated Youth Services of Peel
Rachel Ferreira, Youth Probation Officer, Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Maria Glidden, Volunteer with the Peel District School Board
Judy Hughes, Retired Teacher, Peel District School Board
Cathy Matthews, Retired Secondary Vice-Principal, Peel District School Board
Janice MacKay, Ministry of Children and Youth Services
Elaine Moore, Regional Councillor, Ward 1 & 5, Brampton and Former Trustee, Peel District School Board
Dana Riddell, Retired Chief Social Worker, Peel District School Board
Joyce Templeton-Smith, Retired Executive Director, Malton Neighborhood Services
Jeff White, Former Trustee, Peel District School Board

Trustees recognized the contributions and years of service of the following staff who have/are retiring:

John Agius, custodian, retired June 30
Linda Baklarz, teaching assistant, retired Aug. 31
Bernard Bascombe, head custodian, retired July 31
Irene Boon, teaching assistant, retired Aug. 31
Carey Bowlby Mollenhauer, principal, retired June 30
Roberta Cote, teacher, retired June 30
Nick De Frenza, custodian, retired June 15
Carolyn Evans, teacher, retired July 31
Frank Fulawka, school attendant, retired July 31
Maria Fulawka, school attendant, retired Sept. 1
Gladys Gardash, school attendant, will retire Nov. 29
Arthur George, head custodian, retired Sept. 1
Madi Hayles, co-ordinator – Early Years, will retire Oct. 31
Janice Houston, teaching assistant, retired June 19
Sharon Hulley, teaching assistant, retired Sept. 1
Donald Jones, teaching assistant, retired Aug. 31
Roman Kajmowicz, custodian, retired Aug. 1
Leokadia Klich, school attendant, retired July 27
William Krock, speech-language pathologist, retired Sept. 1
Sharon Locke, office manager, retired Aug. 27
Linda MacNeill, teaching assistant, retired Sept. 1
Jeanne McLeod, office manager, will retire Sept. 11
Suzanne Meyer-Smithies, teacher, retired June 30
Marilyn Morgan, office assistant, retired Aug. 31
Moveta Nanton, vice principal, will retire Jan. 31
Rosanda Pavlovic, head custodian, retired Aug. 19
Marguerite Price, office assistant, retired Aug. 21
Pratima Singh, language instructor, retired June 26
Mark Spickett, teacher, retired June 30
Margaret Sullivan, teacher, will retire Nov. 30
Kathryn Taylor, will retire Sept. 22
Marilyn Vance, teacher, retired June 30
Maria Vieira, school attendant, retired Aug.18
Mary Walters, teacher, retired Aug. 31


COVID-19 advisory
Find Your School