November 27, 2014

New, returning Peel board trustees Lead. Renew. Commit at inaugural meeting

New and returning Peel District School Board trustees will be sworn in during Lead. Renew. Commit., the inaugural meeting of the board on Dec. 1 at the HJA Brown Education Centre in Mississauga. Family, students, staff and community partners will join trustees as they sign their oaths of office and elect the new chair and vice-chair of the Peel board.

"The inaugural meeting of the board is an opportunity for us to reflect on the past and to look forward to the opportunities and challenges ahead. We're very excited to welcome seven returning trustees and five new members this term," says Tony Pontes, director of education. "I'm looking forward to collaborating with our trustees as we continue to make Peel a great place to learn, grow and build authentic relationships—a place to inspire greatness together."

Lead. Renew. Commit. will feature student performances by Mayfield Secondary School, the Britannia Public School choir, and the Central Peel Secondary School string ensemble.

The meeting will be followed by a reception catered by students from the culinary program at Rick Hansen Secondary School.

The public is invited to join the celebration that begins at 6:45 p.m. The HJA Brown Education Centre is located at 5650 Hurontario St. in Mississauga. For more information about the event, please call 905-890-1010 (or 1-800-668-1146), ext. 2239.

The Peel board serves more than 154,000 kindergarten to grade 12 students. Operating 246 schools in the municipalities of Brampton, Caledon and Mississauga, the Peel board is the largest employer in Peel.


​Media contact: Tony Pontes, Director of Education, 905-890-1010 (or 1-800-668-1146), ext. 2005

Reference: Kayla Tishcoff, School Communications Specialist, 905-890-1010,

(or 1-800-668-1146), ext. 2239, [email protected]

Note to media: For a copy of the program, contact Kayla Tishcoff at [email protected] or download a copy here.

Find Your School