April 16, 2014

Peel board honours 32 individuals for outstanding contributions to public education at Showcase of Excellence

On April 23, the Peel District School Board will host Showcase of Excellence, an evening to honour Award of Excellence recipients for their outstanding contributions to public education. The event is one of the highlights of Education Week, which takes place from April 14 to 25.

"Education Week in Peel has always been an opportunity to celebrate the wonderful accomplishments of our students, staff and school communities," says Tony Pontes, director of education. "All of the Award of Excellence recipients have made a real and lasting difference for Peel students and families. Their stories remind us of the power each of us has, each and every day, to inspire success, confidence and hope in each student.”

During Showcase of Excellence, community members, staff, students, and volunteers will be honoured for their dedication to Peel students. The following 32 individuals will be presented Awards of Excellence at the event:

Gaspar Brozic, Technical Support Specialist, Janet I. McDougald Public School
Michael Burgess, Head, Curriculum, Chinguacousy Secondary School
Simon Carneiro, Teacher, Applewood School
Josh Crozier, Head, Cross Curricular, David Suzuki Secondary School
Joanne De Graaf, Teacher, Peel Alternative School South
Paul Delsnyder, Teacher, Castlemore Public School
Lawrence deMaeyer, Principal, Central Peel Secondary School
Robert Justin Espiritu, Teacher, Briarwood Public School
Carmelina Figliomeni-Crupi, Teacher, Louise Arbour Secondary School
Lola Gayle, Vice Principal, Peel Alternative School South
Peter D Gibson, Principal, Somerset Drive Public School
Karandeep Gill, Student, Harold M Brathwaite Secondary School
Kathleen Gorven, Teaching Assistant, Artesian Drive Public School
Karen Guyatt, Principal, Sandalwood Heights Secondary School
Mariam Jonckheere, Social Worker, Fallingdale Public School
Alexandra Kaske, Student, Peel Alternative School South
Kathy Kulbak, Community member, Port Credit Secondary School
Corey Lehman, Teacher, Rick Hansen Secondary School
Delia Leitao, Volunteer, Hawthorn Public School
Jan McFadyen, Volunteer, Caledon East Public School
Amanda McGuire, Teacher, Palgrave Public School
Maura Morrison, Assistant to the Superintendent, North Field Office
Crystal Parks, Teacher, Agnes Taylor Public School
Tara Regota, Principal, Glendale Public School
Marjorie Reid-Ward, Teaching Assistant, Cheyne Middle School
Caroline Sa, Teaching Assistant, Madoc Drive Public School
Bob Stockden, Teacher, Stanley Mills Public School
Mark Szczygiel, Student Teacher, Gordon Graydon Memorial Secondary School
Vicki Thomas, Vice Principal, West Credit Secondary School
Mary Jo Wheeler-Ali, Teacher, Allan A Martin Senior Public School
Matthew Wilkinson, Community member, Rick Hansen Secondary School
Dobrila Zubac, Head Custodian, Trelawny Public School

More than 1,000 individuals will also be honoured during Education Week with Awards of Distinction for their contributions to their school or workplace.

The Showcase of Excellence will take place on April 23 at 7:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the HJA Brown Education Centre, 5650 Hurontario St. in Mississauga.


Media contact:  Brian Woodland, Director, Communications and Community Relations,
905-890-1010, ext. 2812, [email protected]

Reference:  Ryan Reyes, Communications Officer, 905-890-1010, ext. 2652, [email protected]

Find Your School